Remembering those that have gone before…

On this Memorial Day I want to ask each and every one of you to spend just a few minutes to reflect on the sacrifices made by our folks in the military. Those that spend weeks and months away from home, family, and friends to train, to fight, to protect the very rights that so many these days take for granted. In particular the ones who made the ultimate sacrifice and did not come home.

I am not a combat vet. I wasn’t a SEAL, or a Sniper, or any other high speed, low drag operator. I was a Motor Transport Mechanic (U.S.M.C. MOS 3521). I was capable, as a Sgt, of running an Infantry squad. Each Marine is a rifleman before anything else. I am proud of my service and am saddened each day when I see news of military members who take their own lives because the burden that has been place on them is too great.

So, I ask that if you know a veteran, whether they served in combat or not, just a quick, sincere ” thanks” means more than you know. We don’t need discounts, or perks, or special treatment. That’s not why we did what we did. We did it for you, and most would do it all again at the drop of a hat.

I hope that you take the time to enjoy the freedoms that have been won this weekend, but please, just take a moment to think about where they came from.

Semper Fi,

Chad Hollar

U.S.M.C.

1991-1992, 1995-2001

One thought on “Remembering those that have gone before…

  1. I always am reminded of the buddies of a friend of mine who was the sole survivor from his unit. They had a car bomb in Iraq. I always pray for him when Memorial Day approaches, and remember the ones that didn’t survive the attack.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

