Next step for Blacksmithing class..

I have taught a few classes now of the basic class. They have been going well and I plan on stepping up the advertising for them now that I have gotten rid of the migraines.

A theme that I’ve picked up from my students so far is that they aren’t all that interested in decorative blacksmithing. I believe, due in part to the popularity of Forged in Fire, that they are more inclined to to make knives and blades. I can understand that I suppose. They are wanting to be cool, and lets face it, making a beautiful knife is pretty badass.

One challenge for me is coming up with a syllabus for the classes. Knowing where to go next without totally throwing away the knowledge gained in the prior lesson is tough. I think I have finally figured that out.

In the Basic class, they make a scrolled “s” hook. This helps them learn to taper and move metal in it’s plastic state. It also gives them some experience with twisting.

So, for the next installment I’ve decided to have a full 8 hour class and make a “blacksmith’s knife”. That way they will still use, and practice, the skills they learned in the first class, and also add some new skills. Now they will have to design a blade profile, move metal, and start to grind and polish a blade.

I think that for part 3 it will be a 2 day endeavor with making a knife, polishing it, and completing the fit and finish for handle material. Which, in itself, can take a day or more to complete when making a knife.

For part 2 they will turn this:

Into something that looks something like this:

So, even though I am teaching my students how to smith, this process is teaching me much more.

As always, if you find yourself in southeastern North Carolina and would like to take a class, let me know. My schedule is pretty flexible and I can set up a class nearly any day of the week.

Here’s to hoping you all have a great week!

Chad

10 thoughts on “Next step for Blacksmithing class..

Leave a comment